# NOTIFICATION CALLING FOR APPLICATIONS FOR THE POST OF CHAIRMAN / MEMBERS OF THE TELANGANA STATE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION:

Article 316 of Constitution of the India provides that the Chairman and other members of the State Public Service Commission shall be appointed by the Governor of the State.

It is proposed to fill up the vacancies of Chairman and Members of the Telangana State Public Service Commission.

In this regard, for the purpose of the appointment of the Chairman and members, among others, it is also proposed to invite applications from interested persons who fulfil the eligibility criteria prescribed in the Constitution of India and the Telangana State Public Service Commission Regulations, 2014. The relevant provisions in regard to tenure, eligibility and the terms and conditions of appointment are Annexed to this notification.

Accordingly, applications are invited from interested persons having above requisite qualifications and experience in the relevant field.

Interested persons may download the prescribed application form from the website <a href="www.telangana.gov.in">www.telangana.gov.in</a> and submit the same at E-mail id: <a href="secy-ser-gad@telangana.gov.in">secy-ser-gad@telangana.gov.in</a> duly mentioning the post applied for.

The last date for submission of the filled in applications, in all respects is 18.01.2024 by 5.00 P.M.

The selection process, either from applications received or otherwise, will be through the Search-cum- Screening Committee constituted by the Government for this purpose.

Chief Secretary, Government of Telangana

### **ANNEXURE**

# **Article 316 of Constitution of India;**

# **Appointment and term of the office of members**

(1) The Chairman and other members of a Public Service Commission shall be appointed, in the case of the Union Commission or a Joint Commission, by the President, and in the case of State Commission, by the Governor of the State.

Provided that as nearly as may be one-half of the members of every Public Service Commission shall be persons who at the dates of their respective appointments have held office for at least ten years either under the Government of India or under the Government of State, and in computing the said period of ten years any period before the commencement of this Constitution during which a person has held office under the Crown in India or under the Government of an India State shall be included.

- (2) 'A member of a Public Service Commission shall hold office for a term of six years from the date on which he enters upon his office or until he attains, in the case of the Union Commission, the age of sixty-five years, and in the case of a State Commission or a joint Commission, the age of sixty two years, whichever is earlier:
- (3) A persons who holds office as a member of a Public Service Commission shall, on the expiration of his term of office, be ineligible for re-appointment to that office.

#### XXXXX

## **TSPSC Regulations. 2014**

**Regulation** 3: 1) The Commission shall consist of the Chairman and such other Members, not exceeding (11) eleven in number comprising of eminent persons possessing high degree of callibre, competence, professional integrity and honesty who would inspire confidence in Public mind about the objectivity and impartiality of the Commission.

(2) The Chairman and other Members of the Commission shall be appointed by the Governor of the State:

Provided that;.

(a) as nearly as may be one-half of the Members shall be those who have served as officers of All India Services, Central Services or State Services, who on the date of their appointments have held office for at least 10 years either in the Government of India or State Government subject to clearance of their names from the Vigilance angle; and

(b) The remaining Members shall be from among the eminent people with a background in academics/Management/ Law/ Science & Technology/Social Science and Humanities and known for their integrity."

The detailed terms and conditions are as laid down in the Telangana Public Service Commission Regulations, 2014.

Chief Secretary, Government of Telangana